More than one year without television

In June 2015, suddenly, my television antenna stopped working. Not knowing whether it was broken or tampered with, I chose not to get it repaired.

Since then, I have lived without television. And I assure you that life is really different this way. Whatever had happened, whether it was a natural accident or it had been man-made, since then the quality of my life has improved very much.

I am much freer. I manage my time. I am no longer bound to the time of television programs. I decide what to do at a certain time. Declared or hidden advertisements no longer arrive to me. I choose how, where and when deepening news, information and updates. I have much more time for myself and my loved ones. I suffer no distractions. I use all my time, without throwing it away stunning myself with matters of other people. I am focused on my life and on my goals.

When I was a child, the television had only one channel and the programs began in the afternoon with the children’s TV. I waited with joy for Paolo Poli telling me one of his delightful stories. In the evening there was “Carosello” (commercial). It was in black and white. For the next episode of a serial you had to wait for a week. Only during the days of the Fair of the House at the Overseas Exhibition of Naples (Italy), in June, the TV was turned on for a few hours in the morning: just the time of a film.

Well, without TV, I found again my time. I feel lighter. Too much television steals time, stuns and dims the mind, manages thoughts, confuses memory, sends body, mind and spirit to sleep, makes foolish, chokes, makes heavy, blocks the movements and the flow of energy.

Without TV I lost the habit of bad news and of violent images. I choose what to see and what to hear, and I choose it in harmony with my personality.

If, as I read in a book of yoga in the Seventies, we have counted breaths, it is even more important to dedicate them to ourselves and not to waste them.

Namastè  🙂

Paola Morgese, PMP
Civil Hydraulic Engineer
M.S. Sanitary and Environmental Engineering
http://it.linkedin.com/in/ingpaolamorgese/en

https://sustainableprojectsblog.wordpress.com/

http://www.facebook.com/soluzioniolisticheallemanipolazioniaffettive

Translation of the Italian blog post: Paola Morgese, Un anno e più senza TV

 

 

Author: progettisostenibili Paola Morgese

Ingegnere, project manager, autrice. Convogliatrice di sostenibilità nelle aziende e nella vita. Engineer, project manager, author. Conveyer of sustainability in business and life

Leave a Reply

